A paradise of volcanic islands, sun-kissed beaches, swaying palms and natural wonders

The westernmost US state, located in the Central Pacific Ocean, Hawaii is made up of eight major volcanic islands of which six are open to tourism: Hawaii, Oahu, Maui, Kauai, Molokai and Lanai. Of these, Oahu is the most urbanised – it’s home to Honolulu, the state capital, and the world-renowned surf hotspot of Waikiki Beach – though it also boasts rainforest areas, hiking trails, pineapple fields and, of course, Pearl Harbour, best known for the 1941 attack that drew the US into World War II.  On the other islands, visitors can do anything from feasting their eyes on a lava-filled crater and visiting a working ranch to staying in a high-end resort or traditional village and motoring along wind-swept stretches of breathtaking coastline.

Destinations in Hawaii